H.P. Lovecraft Relief.

Previously, I had hinted at a piece I was working on. At the time, all I had was the likeness of the author, H.P. Lovecraft. I had done a lot of sketches of how I would make this piece. I played around with several ideas, from some sort of religious vignette based on his Cthulhu-verse, to using art deco influences as well. Eventually, I decided on just using his most classic character: Cthulhu.

Using a test cast of the initial sculpture, I built up the design around it. The other dilemma was the tentacles. Suction cups, or no suction cups? After a few tests with them, and with them in only specific places, I decided on without.

The next step is molding, and then casting!

Leave a Reply

